A/A SPOTLIGHT: Sarah Mahoney




What is your day job?

I work at EQ Media and do branding, marketing and communications for equestrian

companies and brands.


How many years did you train for your day job?

I received a Bachelor’s degree in marketing/communications and have been in the industry for almost ten years.


How old are you?

I’m 34.


Interesting tidbit about yourself?

I’m the middle child in a family that at one point all we are black belts in Tae Kwon Do.

How do you fit horses into your life?

It’s tough because with my job every day is different and I live about an hour from the barn. I make it a priority and try to set aside time each week to ride. I have to be flexible and am lucky my trainer works with me and my ever-changing schedule.


How many horses do you have?

I have one. Quessel IF, barn name Zellie.


Breed?

Hanoverian

Age?

Coming 4 in May 2022.


Discipline?

Show Hunter

Level?

We’ve just started jumping cross rails and 18” verticals. Hoping to do some of the USHJA 2ft Hunter classes in 2022.

Your biggest accomplishment in the ring?

Personally a 3rd place in the Pre-Adult under saddle with my Thoroughbred at HITS Ocala in 2016. There were lots of nice warm bloods so to come away with a 3rd was amazing!

For my horses - Zellie was 3rd at Sallie B. Wheeler in the 3-year old fillies and 4th at USHJA Zone 3 Championship in 2021.

Your biggest accomplishment in life?

Graduating from college magna cum laude while being a competitive Division II student athlete.

Advice to other Adult Amateurs?

Figure out your why and don’t look back. Work towards that every day.